Budget bill in conference committee…but where are HHS and Taxes?

The House and Senate passed their respective versions of a supplemental budget bill (HF 1812) last week…and this afternoon (Tuesday, April 8th) they will have their first conference committee. The following members were appointed:

Senate conferees: Cohen (chair of Finance), Tomassoni (chair of Economic Development), Fredrickson (ranking Republican on Finance and Environment/Energy/Natural Resources), Betzold (chair of State Government) and Higgins (chair of Public Safety).

House conferees: Carlson (chair of Finance), M. Murphy (chair of Education/Economic Competitiveness), Wagenius (chair of Environment/Natural Resources), Rukavina (chair of Higher Education/Workforce Development) and Ozment (Republican lead on Environment/Natural Resources).

You’ll notice that between the House and the Senate they have at least one chair from every major budget area covered in the supplemental budget bill…except two. Noticeably absent are the chairs of the Health & Human Services and Tax divisions.

No official word yet on how those two areas of the budget bill will be conferenced. But perhaps we’ll learn something during the conference committee hearing later this afternoon (Room 123 of the Capitol at 4 pm).

About Christina Wessel

Christina served as the Minnesota Budget Project's deputy director until January 2014.
This entry was posted in Budget Process. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply